Click on a committee to see members and more information

The Finance Committee is chaired by the Oral Health Kansas Board Treasurer and other Board members. The Committee has the responsibility to ensure financial records are maintained accurately and completely. Members of the Committee also review and recommend the annual budget and safeguard the organization’s assets.

Melanie Simmer Beck, Chair
Kent Haverkamp
Nick Rogers

The Board Development and Succession Planning Committee is responsible for recruiting new board members and proposing a slate of officers. The committee meets via conference call each fall and as needed throughout the year. It’s also responsible for ensuring an up-to-date succession plan is in place for a planned or unplanned Executive Director transition. In the event of a planned or unplanned Executive Director transition, members of the Committee are asked to serve on a Transition Work Group.

Preddis Sullivan, Chair
Tami Allen
Robyne Goates
Marlou Wegener

The Communications Committee is comprised of Board members and non-members. The Committee has the responsibility to guide the communications strategies for Oral Health Kansas and advise staff on message development.

Sonja Armbruster
Barbara Conant
Debra Meisenheimer
Shannon Uehling
Marlou Wegener
Whitney Zamora

The Resource Development Committee is comprised of Board members and non-members. The Committee has the responsibility to create and execute revenue development strategies to diversify the funding base for Oral Health Kansas.

Debra Meisenheimer, Chair
Sonja Armbruster
Bonnie Branson
Trina Morgan
Shawn Oprisiu
Michelle Ponce
Niki Sadler
Whitney Zamora

The Advocacy Committee is made up of Board and non-Board members. The Committee is responsible for developing and recommending the annual Oral Health Kansas Advocacy Agenda. Committee members meet weekly during the Legislative Session and assist staff in forming advocacy strategies.

Rachel Alexander
Sonja Armbruster
Barbara Conant
Dawn Downes
John Fales
Megan Foreman
Travis Grauerholz
Stuart Little
Travis Lowe
Mallory Lutz
Marcia Manter
Chuck Nigro
Michelle Ponce
Kevin Robertson
Nick Rogers
Amber Sellers
Jonalan Smith

The Dental Champions Advisory Board is comprised of graduates of Oral Health Kansas’ Dental Champions Leadership Program who help administer the Dental Champions Program. The Advisory Board is responsible for engaging alumni to advocate for oral health issues in Kansas, help alumni stay in contact with each other and overseeing the nomination and selection of new class members.

Marlou Wegener, Chair, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Kansas
Rachel Alexander, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Region VII
Barbara Conant, Kansas Advocates for Better Care
Dr. John Fales, DDS
Megan Foreman, Johnson County Department of Health and Environment
Kathy Hunt, RDH
Lucynda Raben, DDS
Brian Smith, Columbus School District
Ashley D. Swisher, DDS
Sharon Tidwell, Jones Foundation
Amy Seery, MD

The Strategic Planning Committee is responsible for working with the Executive Director and staff to serve as a design team in the development process with the consultant. Further, this committee will keep the plan forward on the Board Meeting agendas.

Tami Allen
Sonja Armbruster
Chip Blaser
Krista Hahn
Whitney Zamora


Follow Us